Hi, I’m Ali

Hi,

My name is Ali. I’m 27 and in the preparation steps of moving from my apartment onto a boat. Yes, it’s October. You might think I’m crazy, you’re probably right. Who in their right mind would want to move onto a boat right before winter, in Boston no less? I would. I will. I am. I like to test the limits and get outside of my comfort zone. I invite you to join me on this journey. I will be documenting everything from getting the boat to living on the boat.

Why am I doing this?

I’ve loved boats since I was a small child. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no captain, but I’ve always enjoyed the ride. My grandparents had a boat, she was called Praxis. Definition: “Practical application or exercise of a branch of learning.” I spent a lot of time with Praxis, I even had my 11th birthday party on her.

Besides my love of boats there is a practical side to this. Let me break it down:

Rent: Much much cheaper.

Well-Being: I’m in the process of de-cluttering my life. I wouldn’t consider myself a hoarder (other people might) but I’ve reached a point where I’ve realized that the accumulation of things doesn’t make me happy. In fact, the opposite is appealing to me. I love the idea of selling my furniture, cutting down my closet to only things I actually wear, and letting go of the things that I don’t use that just make my life more complicated and make me feel…heavier.

Amenities: Laundry, gym, and showers at the marina.

Community: The liveaboard community is a tight one. I love meeting new people and community is vital to me. We’re not alone so why not do it together?

Cool Factor: Needs no explanation.

Leave a Reply

